Ballindine, Co. Mayo

November 22, 2019

Minors V Ballinrobe–Match Report

Davitts 2-9       Ballinrobe 2-8

Davitts captured the South Mayo Minor B title in Cong on Sunday when they edged out the narrowest of victories over Ballinrobe in front of a large attendance. It was a game that was in the balance right up to the final whistle and both sides and their management teams deserve great credit for the quality of the football on show in mid November. It would be wrong not to thank The Neale Club too for the use of their pitch which was in excellent condition considering the recent weather.

Jack Devane opened the scoring for Davitts in the third minute. After a spell of shadow boxing, Ballinrobe sprung into life and scored points in the 11th and 14th minutes, sandwiching a 12thminute goal, to go into a four point lead. Davitts were reeling but they replied with a terrific goal in the 18th minute with their impressive goalkeeper Joe Prendergast finding Zack Keadin who spun his man and went on a defence splitting run before offloading to Niall Treacy, who finished with aplomb. Zack Keadin landed a point in the 22nd minute to level the game. Ballinrobe pointed in the 24th minute but five points from Davitts in the final six minutes of the half via Cathal Corless, Stephen Nyland, Niall Treacy (2) and Jack Devane, with Ballinrobe replying with one of their own, left Davitts ahead by 1-7 to 1-4 at half time.

Niall Treacy opened the second half scoring in the second minute but a brace of Ballinrobe points in the next three minutes narrowed the gap to two points. Ballinrobe were flying at this stage and a combination of excellent defending and a few top class saves from Joe Prendergast kept Davitts ahead until the 44th minute when Ballinrobe goaled after some great approach work. They added a point a minute later and now Davitts found themselves two points behind.

Davitts midfielder Fenton Kelly pulled one back for Davitts in the 47th minute but Ballinrobe replied to that score with a point of their own in the 50th minute. The game’s crucial score came in the 53rd minute. Fenton Kelly hit a long diagonal delivery which was won by team captain Stephen Nyland in the left corner who shrugged off his man before beating three defenders and slotting the ball to the net. This was the game’s final score with Davitts withstanding some late Ballinrobe pressure to take the title.

Joe Prendergast had a fine game in goals with the outstanding Fionnan Gallagher, Tomas Ronayne, Micheal Hett, Sean Feerick, Gary Bourke and sub John Wallace putting on a great defensive display. Fenton Kelly (0-1) and Stephen Nyland (1-1) worked hard and effectively at midfield against an impressive Ballinrobe pairing. Up front Niall Treacy (1-3), Jack Devane (0-2), Jack Trench, Cathal Corless (0-1) combined very well with Zack Keadin (0-1) putting in a man of the match display.

The other panel members were Tristan Diskin, Oisin O Connor, Brian Og McTigue, Jack Melvin, Bon Glynn, Davey Hennessy and Charlie Phillips.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top