Ballindine, Co. Mayo

August 25, 2011

Minors advance to South Final

Davitts Minor team advanced to the South Mayo B Final with a fine 1-18 to 2-6 victory over The Neale in Ballindine on Wednesday evening. Davitts looked in trouble early on, but with Liam Noone (0-4) and Tommy Waldron (0-2) in top form in attack and wing back Jason Connolly and sub Mark Ronayne adding a point each before the break, they went in ahead by 0-8 to 1-3 at halftime.

Davitts upped their performance in the second half and were leading by three points when an excellent Clive Hennigan pass put Darren Connolly through on goal but he was pulled down for a penalty. Andrew Peters coolly slotted the penalty to put Davitts in control. The Neale were reduced to eleven players in the closing minutes when two of their players were sent off and the game threatened to boil over. Davitts were able to easily tag on a few more points before the finish, availing of the gaps in the visitors defence.

Outstanding for Davitts were Donie and Mark Ronayne, Brian Clarke, Gerard McWalter, Sean Waldron, Tommy Waldron, Andrew Peters, Liam Noone and Darren Connolly.

Davitts team: David Mitchell, Brian Clarke, Gerard McWalter (0-1), Cathal Higgins, Donie Ronayne, Jason Connolly (0-2), William Freeley, Sean Waldron, Tommy Waldron (0-3), Andrew Peters (1-1), Liam Noone (0-7), Darren Connolly (0-2), Clive Hennigan (0-1). Subs used: Mark Ronayne (0-1), Gearoid Lyons, John Macken, Caolan Devane.

Scroll to top