Ballindine, Co. Mayo

March 29, 2023

Minor League v Ballaghaderreen match report

Davitts 3-13  Ballaghaderreen 0-6

Davitts Minors got their Div 3 League campaign off to a flying start with an impressive win over Ballaghaderreen in Ballindine on Tuesday evening. The home side didn’t take long to settle and had early points from the influential Conor McDermott, Dylan Gallagher and Ronan Kelly before Dylan Gallagher goaled clinically after a great solo run in the ninth minute. Dylan Gallagher, a constant thorn for the Ballagh defence, pointed again a minute later before Ballagh registered their first score, a 12th minute point. An 18th minute Dylan Gallagher point was cancelled out by Ballagh a minute later before Gallagher reeled off three more points to see Davitts lead by 1-7 to 0-2 at the break.

Ballaghaderreen opened the second half scoring with a point in the 32nd minute. The visitors were playing well now but found the Davitts defence very hard to breach. Ciaran Treacy picked off a point in the 38th minute to restore Davitts eight point lead. Ballagh replied with a point of their own before Davitts firmly turned the screw with a three minute scoring blitz. Points from Ronan Kelly, Dylan Gallagher and Ethan Boyle and a classy Ciaran Treacy goal put Davitts thirteen points ahead after the third quarter.

A 46th minute Ballagh point was cancelled out by Dylan Gallagher and Sean Keadin, Davitts marauding full back rattled home his side’s third goal in the 54th minute after great work by Ronan Kelly and Fionn McLoughlin. Fionn McLoughlin completed Davitts scoring in the 57th minute with a point and Ballagh shot their final score three minutes later.

This was an impressive team display by the Davitts team with excellent performances all over the field.  The defence were very tenacious and Mark Birmingham and Burke Briere formed a solid midfield pairing. The forwards showed great teamwork and were way more efficient than their Ballaghaderreen counterparts.

Davitts: Dylan Gormally, Ben Corless, Sean Keadin (1-0), Sean Meehan, Noah O Brien, Aaron Trench, Ethan Boyle (0-1), Burke Briere, Mark Birmingham, Brian Corless, Ronan Kelly (0-2), Fionnn McTigue, Conor McDermott (0-1), Dylan Gallagher (1-7), Ciaran Treacy (1-1). Subs used: Fionn McLoughlin (0-1), Aaron Conneely Basham, Sean Clarke, Darragh Garvey, Cillian Kearns, Conor Feerick.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top