Ballindine, Co. Mayo

May 24, 2023

Minor League S/F v Kiltimagh match report

Davitts 3-14  Kiltimagh 2-9

Davitts qualified for the County Minor League Div 3 final with an impressive victory over a fine Kiltimagh side in the semi-final played in sunny Ballindine on Tuesday evening. A superb midfield performance from Mark Birmingham and a powerful display from sharpshooter Dylan Gallagher allied to a very strong all round team effort saw Davitts through to the final where they will play Ballaghaderreen.

Davitts raced into a six point lead after points from Ronan Kelly and Dylan Gallagher (2) and a superb individual goal by Fionn McLoughlin in the 8th minute. Kiltimagh got off the mark in the 15th minute with a goal and they added a point four minutes later to narrow Davitts lead to two points. Dylan Gallagher crashed home Davitts second goal in the 23rd minute after a brilliant pass from Mark Birmingham. The visitors recovered well from this blow and they pointed in the 25th, 26th and 30th minutes to leave two points separating the teams at the break.

Davitts made a blistering start to the second half as they took command of the game and they shot a goal and six points in the third quarter while keeping the Kiltimagh lads scoreless. Dylan Gallagher scored the goal in the 32nd minute, again on receipt of a long measured Mark Birmingham delivery. The points were scored by Dylan Gallagher (4), Ronan Kelly and Conor McDermott. A 45th minute Kiltimagh point was matched by a fine Burke Briere score three minutes later. Kiltimagh refused to lie down and they scored 1-4 in the final eight minutes of the game with Dylan Gallagher (2) and Ronan Kelly pointing for the home side.

As well as Mark Birmingham and Dylan Gallagher, Davitts had brilliant displays from Conor McDermott, Sean Keadin, who had a storming game, Ethan Boyle, Ronan Kelly, Fionn McLoughlin and Ciaran Treacy.

Davitts: Dylan Gormally, Conor McDermott (0-1), Sean Keadin, Sean Meehan, Noah O Brien, Aaron Trench, Ethan Boyle, Burke Briere (0-1), Mark Birmingham, Fionn McTigue, Ronan Kelly (0-4), Brian Corless, Ciaran Treacy, Dylan Gallagher (2-8), Fionn McLoughlin (1-0). Subs used: Tadhg Feerick, Aaron C B, Ben Corless, Sean Clarke, Darragh Garvey.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top