Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 19, 2023

Minor B C’ship v Breaffy match report

Breaffy 0-11  Davitts 3-17

Davitts travelled to Breaffy on Tuesday evening for the second round of the Minor B Championship and they maintained their 100% record with an impressive win. A tigerish defence, kept on their toes by keeper Dylan O Brien, a strong midfield performance from the very influential Mark Birmingham and Burke Briere and an attacking masterclass from Dylan Gallagher and Ciaran Treacy, who scored 2-11 between them, had the homeside chasing the game from the off.

Davitts had five points on the board through Ciaran Treacy, Mark Birmingham and Dylan Gallagher (3) before Breaffy got off the mark in the 13th minute. A Fionn McTigue point in the 14th minute, a well taken Ciaran Treacy goal in the 17th minute and another Mark Birmingham point two minutes later extended Davitts lead to nine points after twenty minutes. In the last ten minutes of the half, Breaffy scored four points but Davitts inspirational captain Dylan Gallagher fired over three points and crashed home a superb goal, after great work by Conor McDermott and Mark Birmingham, on the stroke of half time, to give his side a 2-10 to 0-5 lead at the break.

Dylan Gallagher and Ronan Kelly extended Davitts lead with points in the first five minutes of the second period. Breaffy replied with a 40th minute point but points from Ciaran Treacy and Dylan Gallagher and a Dylan Gormally goal, after nice combination play involving himself and fellow subs Cillian Kearns and Aaron CB, ended any chance of a home side comeback. Breaffy pointed in the 52nd minute and this was followed by Davitts points from Aaron CB and marauding full back Sean Keadin. Breaffy kept plugging away and they finished the game with four unanswered points in the last five minutes.

All of the Davitts players from one to fifteen were on top of their games, with the five subs doing well too when they were introduced. Their teamwork was impressive on a night when not a lot went right for the Breaffy lads.

Davitts: Dylan O Brien, Noah O Brien, Sean Clarke, Sean Keadin (0-1), Aaron Trench, Tadhg Feerick, Ethan Boyle, Burke Briere, Mark Birmingham (0-2), Brian Corless, Ronan Kelly (0-1), Fionn McTigue (0-1), Conor McDermott, Dylan Gallagher (1-8), Ciaran Treacy (1-3). Subs used: Ben Corless, Aaron Conneely Basham (0-1), Dylan Gormally (1-0), Cillian Kearns, Darragh Garvey.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top