Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 11, 2023

Minor B C’ship v Aghamore match report

Davitts 1-11  Aghamore 1-7

Davitts and Aghamore met in the first round of the Minor B Championship in Ballindine on Tuesday evening with the homeside coming out on top by four points after a very well fought and entertaining match.

Davitts had shot the first four points of the game via Ciaran Treacy (2), who was superb throughout, and Dylan Gallagher (2) before Aghamore opened their account in the 11th minute. Aghamore pointed again in the 14th minute with Davitts midfielder Mark Birmingham firing one over for Davitts two minutes later. The visitors scored their third and final point of the first half in the 21st minute and Ciaran Treacy and Ronan Kelly (2) shot the last three points to leave Davitts ahead by 0-8 to 0-3 at halftime.

Aghamore got the first point of the second half after four minutes but in the 38th minute Fionn McLoughlin was at the end of a good Davitts move and was hauled down in the square for a penalty. The same player expertly slotted home the spot kick to put his side seven points clear. Aghamore rallied in impressive style and they fired home a smashing goal in the 41st minute. Ronan Kelly scored a fine point two minutes later to put Davitts five points clear but Aghamore replied in the next minute with a similar score. The visitors were denied what looked like certain goals by two brilliant saves from Davitts excellent keeper Dylan O Brien in the final quarter as the Davitts defenders were putting a big shift to keep their side ahead. Dylan Gallagher pointed twice to give Davitts a six points advantage and while Aghamore threw everything they had at Davitts in the final five minutes, they could only manage two points before the final whistle.

Dylan O Brien, Sean Clarke, Ethan Boyle, Mark Birmingham, Burke Briere, Conor McDermott, Ronan Kelly, Dylan Gallagher and Ciaran Treacy had powerful games for a very gutsy and hardworking Davitts side for whom every player played a part in this victory.

Davitts: Dylan O Brien, Sean Meehan, Sean Clarke, Sean Keadin, Aaron Trench, Tadhg Feerick, Ethan Boyle, Mark Birmingham (0-1), Burke Briere, Ronan Kelly (0-3), Dylan Gallagher (0-4), Fionn McTigue, Conor McDermott, Fionn McLoughlin (1-0), Ciaran Treacy (0-3). Subs used: Brian Corless, Noah O Brien, Aaron C B.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top