Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 19, 2020

Michael Walsh League v Ballaghaderreen match report

Ballaghaderreen 1-13

Davitts 1-10

Ballaghaderreen proved too strong for a gallant Davitts side in this Michael Walsh Senior League tie played in Ballaghaderreen on Saturday evening. The homeside got off to a flying start and had built up a 1-5 to 0-1 lead after the first quarter to set up the victory and while Davitts fought back impressively, with the defence tightening up considerably, the experience of the Ballaghaderreen side saw them see the game out.

Kuba Callaghan opened the scoring with a second minute point which was cancelled out a minute later by Davitts Cathal Hennelly. Ballagh pointed via Andy Moran and Darragh Kelly before eagle eyed referee Paul Lydon awarded the homeside a penalty in the 8th minute, spotting an off the ball jersey tug from distance, and Andy Moran gleefully accepted the gift to finish emphatically past Davitts impressive keeper Cian Naughton. Kuba Callaghan and Cian Hanley added points to extend Ballagh’s lead to seven points before Cathal Hennelly pointed for the visitors in the fifteenth minute.

An Evan Ronane point in the 21st minute was cancelled out by Andy Moran before points from Ronan McNamara and Cathal Hennelly narrowed the deficit to five points. Cian Hanley had the last score of the half, a neat point in the 30th minute, to see Ballaghaderreen lead by 1-8 to 0-5 at the break.

Early points from Thomas Carmody, Darragh Kelly and Cormac Doohan stretched Ballagh’s lead to nine points as they threatened to run riot but Davitts began to show real grit. Evan Ronane pointed in the 39th minute and centre forward Jack Ronayne gave the visitors hope with a cracking goal, firing home an unstoppable shot in the 42th minute. Barry Kelly pointed for Ballagh three minutes later but Davitts points from Cathal Hennelly (2) and Ronan McNamara left three between the sides with six minutes remaining.  Owen Jordan extended Ballagh’s lead to four and Ronan McNamara pointed for Davitts who tried valiantly to get the goal to save the game but were denied by goalie Pat Sharkey and some terrific defending in the final moments of an enjoyable match.

Ballaghaderreen had impressive displays from David Drake, David McBrien, Owen Jordan, Cian Hanley, Kuba Callaghan, Cormac Doohan, Andy Moran and Darragh Kelly.

Best for Davitts were Cian Naughton, Patrick Keadin, Tom Corless, Brian Clarke, Dmitry Trench, Jack Ronayne, Cathal Hennelly and Ronan McNamara.

Ballaghaderreen: Pat Sharkey, David McHugh, David Drake, Conor O Donnell, Donal Forrest, David McBrien, Owen Jordan (0-1), Ryan Lynch, Cian Hanley (0-2), Thomas Carmody (0-1), Kuba Callaghan (0-3), Aaron Lynch, Cormac Doohan (0-1), Andy Moran (1-2), Darragh Kelly (0-2). Subs: Barry Kelly (0-1).

Davitts: Cian Naughton, Patrick Keadin, Cathal Higgins, Tom Corless, Brian Clarke, Tommy Waldron, Dmitry Trench, Stephen Nyland, Aidan Macken, Cathal Hennelly (0-5), Jack Ronayne (1-0), Josh Ronayne, Mark Ronayne, Ronan McNamara (0-3), Evan Ronane (0-2). Subs used: Johnno Clarke, Niall Treacy, Kieran Fahy, Tommy Clarke.


Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top