Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 18, 2020

Mayo Minor B Final v Balla match report

Davitts 5-15

Balla 1-7

Davitts Minor team produced a top class performance to capture the County B Championship title swatting aside the challenge of Balla in a game played in perfect conditions in Claremorris on Friday evening. Davitts, on top from the start, never allowed Balla to get into the game as they tackled sharply throughout the field, won most of the breaking ball, displayed a fierce workrate and attacked in numbers with great intent.

Dynamic corner forward Niall Treacy opened the scoring in the third minute and Jack Devane cracked home a goal one minute later after an excellent run by midfielder Fenton Kelly. Further points from Niall Treacy (2), Jack Devane, Jack Melvin, Joe Prendergast and Dylan Gallagher put Davitts 1-7 to 0-0 ahead at the first water break. While Balla were winning a fair amount of possession around the middle of the field through the efforts of Odhran O Connor and Shaun Dempsey, they found it extremely tough to get any change out of a superb Davitts defence with all six defenders impressing, none more so than Charlie Phillips at full back.

Two pointed frees from Matthew English in the 22nd and 24th minutes finally got Balla on the scoreboard but a quickfire Davitts scoring blitz two minutes later, scoring 2-1 in a minute, more or less settled the issue.  Dylan Gallagher pointed neatly, then Dylan Gallagher and Niall Treacy combined before the latter’s shot was brilliantly saved by the Balla keeper Matthew Lyons, but Joe Prendergast was on hand to fire home the rebound. From the resulting kick out, Jack Devane won possession and fed Dylan Gallagher who finished to the net with aplomb. Fenton Kelly pointed from a forty five in the final minute of the half to leave Davitts ahead by 3-9 to 0-2 at the break.

Jack Devane and Niall Treacy shot the first two points of the second half to extend Davitts lead before Matthew English pulled one back for Balla in the 36th minute. Iarlaith Golding, coming more into the game scored a fine goal in the 39th minute, fetching Shaun Dempsey’s long delivery and blasting to the net. The same player followed that with a point for Balla before Fenton Kelly pointed for Davitts and Jack Devane finished his second goal after great work by Dylan Gallagher and Niall Treacy in the 44th minute. Matthew English pointed for Balla before the water break to make it 4-12 to 1-5.

The game was fizzling out as Jack Devane pointed in the 47th minute. George Boyd, who had a great battle with Davitts captain Jack Trench all evening, got a fine point for Balla after a searing run in the 53rd minute with Niall Treacy cancelling it out almost immediately. Davitts got their fifth goal in the 59th minute, fittingly Niall Treacy finishing it after Zack Keadin superbly put him through. Iarlaith Golding for Balla and Davitts Jack Melvin swapped points before the referee Paul Lydon blew the final whistle.

All of the Davitts players on view impressed in this game and cases could easily be made for any one of Charlie Phillips, Fenton Kelly, Jack Devane or Niall Treacy to be named man of the match.

Tristan Diskin was a confident goalie with Sean Feerick, Brian Og McTigue, Thomas Ronayne, Fionnan Gallagher and Brian Birmingham superb in defence. Up front team captain Jack Trench led from the front with Joe Prendergast also having a stormer. The three U-16’s on the team, Jack Melvin, Cathal Corless and Dylan Gallagher showed that they are three players of the highest quality, all playing brilliantly. The four subs, Dylan Walsh, Zack Keadin, Bon Glynn and Davy Hennessy all played well when introduced. The other panellists were Gavin Ring, Sean Keadin, Cathal Devane, Mark Birmingham and the injured Micheal Hett.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Sean Feerick, Charlie Phillips, Brian Og McTigue, Thomas Ronayne, Fionnan Gallagher, Brian Birmingham, Fenton Kelly (0-2), Cathal Corless, Jack Trench (capt), Jack Devane (2-3), Joe Prendergast (1-1), Dylan Gallagher (1-2), Jack Melvin (0-2), Niall Treacy (1-5). Subs used: Dylan Walsh, Zack Keadin, Bon Glynn, Davy Hennessy.

Well done lads and the team mentors Liam Nyland, Lawrence Daly, Tommy Ronayne, Derek Byrne and Declan Kirrane.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top