Ballindine, Co. Mayo

August 16, 2015

Juniors v Westport – Match Report

Davitts travelled to Westport on Sunday and defeated the locals by 1-12 to 0-11 in Division 1D of the Senior League. Davitts fielded an experimental outfit with a lot of regulars rested before next Sunday’s County Championship Quarter Final against Knockmore.

Davitts started well and early points from the impressive Tommy Brogan, Michael Hynes and Louis Prendergast had them ahead after ten minutes. Westport then hit a purple spell to hit five unanswered points as the Davitts lads appeared to lose concentration. Jimmy Kilkenny and the outstanding Pat Hickey got the visitors level but two more Westport points before the break had them in front by 0-7 to 0-5 at the interval.

Davitts introduced Pat Cummins for the ineffective Ronan Kirrane early in the second half and he and Liam Griffin began to take control around midfield. The half backline of Paddy Glynn, Joe Ryan and Michael Stephens broke forward at every opportunity. The game’s crucial score came in the eighth minute with John A Noone, just back from a groin strain, getting on the end of a sweeping move involving Mick Roche, Michael Waldron and Frank Hyland to beat the Westport keeper with a cheeky lob. Points followed from Tommy Brogan (2), Pat Cummins (2) and Willie Fallon before Westport were awarded a controversial penalty. Goalkeeper Frank Clarke effected a spectacular save to kill off the Westport challenge. Davitts finished the game out well and substitutes Tom Garvey and Jimmy Roche got in on the scoring act before the finish.

This was a good team display but the performances of Michael Waldron, Jimmy Kilkenny, Pat Hickey, Pat Cummins and man of the match Tommy Brogan were particularly noteworthy.

Davitts: Frank Clarke, Mick Roche, Willie Fallon (0-1), Michael Waldron, Paddy Glynn, Joe Ryan, Michael Stephens, Ronan Kirrane, Pat Hickey (0-1), Jimmy Kilkenny (0-1), Tommy Brogan (0-3) Louis Prendergast (0-1), Michael Hynes (0-1), John A Noone (1-0), Gabriel Prendergast. Subs used: Pat Cummins (0-2), Tom Garvey (0-1), Jimmy Roche (0-1), Sean Higgins, Frank Hyland.

Scroll to top