Ballindine, Co. Mayo

June 21, 2011

Juniors v Westport – Junior B Championship

Davitts Junior team made the trip to Westport on Sunday and were defeated, 2-12 to 0-6, by the local side in the first round of the Junior B championship. Westport were on top from the start and led by 1-7 to 0-2 at the interval. Any hopes of a Davitts revival were dashed when JP Kirrane was sent off early in the second half. Davitts fought hard but were always playing second fiddle to an impressive Westport side. Best for Davitts on this occasion were goalie David Mitchell, Tommy Nolan, Laurence Daly, Martin Cosgrove, John Heneghan, Tommy Mitchell, Shane Mitchell, Kevin Daly and Pat Hopkins.

Davitts team: David Mitchell, JP Kirrane, Tommy Nolan, John Costello, Laurence Daly, Michael Ronayne, Martin Cosgrove, John Heneghan (0-1), Tommy Mitchell (0-1), Kevin Daly (0-3), Shane Mitchell (0-1), Fionan Moran, Pat Hopkins, Michael Waldron, Richie Kilkenny.

Scroll to top