Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 17, 2011

Juniors v Shrule & Seniors v Annaghdown

Davitts had a fine 2-14 to 0-8 victory over Shrule-Glencorrib in the South Mayo Junior championship in Ballindine on Saturday evening. Davitts played some very good football in the difficult conditions and led by 0-9 to 0-4 at half time. The Davitts attack, with Josh Ronayne, Liam Kearns, Shane Mitchell and Richie Kilkenny in top form, linked well as they ran out convincing winners, dominating the second half. Liam Kearns bagged both goals in the second half, the first after a slick attacking move initiated by captain Pat Hopkins and the second a rather fortuitous effort from a free kick. Others to shine for Davitts were Tommy Nolan, JP Kirrane, Michael Ronayne, John Heneghan and Tommy Mitchell.

Davitts team: David Mitchell, Derek Mooney, Tommy Nolan, JP Kirrane, Laurence Daly, Michael Ronayne, John Costello, John Heneghan, Tommy Mitchell, Josh Ronayne (0-3), Liam Kearns (2-4), Richie Kilkenny (0-2), Kevin Daly (0-1), Shane Mitchell (0-4), Pat Hopkins. Subs used: Mark Ronayne, Alan Roche, Gerard McWalter and Tommy Clarke.

Afterwards the Intermediate team played a challenge game with an understrength Annaghdown side. Davitts dominated this game throughout with the outstanding Ronan McNamara and Paul Carey well on top at midfield and the attack in superb form to run out the easy 4-17 to 0-10 winners. Others to shine in this game were Colm Boyle, Keith Glynn and the very lively Aidan McTigue.

Davitts team: Mark Diskin, Martin Cosgrove, Frankie Barrett, Kevin Gallagher, Johnno Clarke, Colm Boyle (1-0), James Cummins, Paul Carey, Ronan McNamara (0-5), Keith Prendergast (1-0), Keith Glynn (1-0), Pat Coyne, Aidan McTigue (1-6), David McDonagh (0-1), Michael Conroy (0-2). Subs used: Josh Ronayne (0-3), Mark Ronayne, Liam Kearns, Laurence Daly and Tommy Nolan.

Scroll to top