Ballindine, Co. Mayo

August 21, 2017

Juniors v Shrule Glencorrib – Match Report

Shrule Glencorrib 2-10 Davitts 1-9

Shrule Glencorrib captured the South Mayo Junior B Title with a four point victory over Davitts in Ballinrobe on Saturday evening.

After a very tentative opening to the game, Shrule Glencorrib were first to strike with a James Fitzgerald point followed by a neat goal from their livewire corner forward Paul Mullin. Davitts replied with points from Clive Hennigan and Richie Kilkenny but Shrule Glencorrib dominated the remainder of the half. Points from Paul Mullin, the very influential Kenneth Mortimer, James Fitzgerald (2), Brian Flood and a fine Conor McMorrow goal, with Gerald Griffin supplying Davitts sole reply with a neatly taken point, had Shrule Glencorrib ahead by 2-6 to 0-3 at the break.

Davitts were more purposeful after the break and three Clive Hennigan points and one from John Kilkenny narrowed the gap to five points and when a long range John Costello free ended up in the back of the Shrule Glencorrib net only two points separated the sides with twelve minutes remaining. Shrule Glencorrib regained their composure however and three points from Trevor Mortimer, a second half sub, lifted the siege for Shrule Glencorrib. They added another point through Conor Bohan with Clive Hennigan pointing twice for Davitts to leave Shrule Glencorrib the winners by four points.

Best for Shrule Glencorrib were Conor Bohan, James Monaghan, James Lohan, Conor McMorrow, Kenny Mortimer, James Fitzgerald, Paul Mullin and Trevor Mortimer.

Davitts had fine performers in Shane Mitchell, Gerard McWalter, Martin Cosgrove, Patrick Keadin, John Kilkenny, Clive Hennigan and Richie Kilkenny.

Shrule Glencorrib: Gary Hennelly, Joe Geraghty, Rory Craddock, Eoghan Martyn, Conor Bohan (0-1), James Monaghan, James Lohan , Conor McMorrow (1-0), James Fitzgerald (0-3), Kenny Mortimer (0-1), James Payne, David Fitzgerald, Paul Mullin (1-1). Subs used: Trevor Mortimer (0-3), Brian Flood (0-1), Mark McMorrow, Adrian Halligan.

Davitts: Shane Mitchell, Gerard McWalter, Tom Corless, Patrick Keadin, Lawrence Daly, Martin Cosgrove, John Costello (1-0), William Freeley, John Kilkenny (0-1), Gerald Griffin (0-1), Tommy Clarke, Richie Kilkenny (0-1), Clive Hennigan (0-6). Subs used: Ryan McLoughlin, Kevin Gallagher, Seamus Roche.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top