Ballindine, Co. Mayo

October 25, 2015

Juniors v Killala – Match Report..

Davitts 2-8 Killala 1-11

Davitts and Killala met in Div 1E of the Senior League on Sunday in Ballindine and, after an entertaining game, the spoils were shared. While Killala dominated the first half, a fine second half revival by the homeside earned them a deserved draw.

Killala led by 1-3 to 0-0 after ten minutes, their goal coming from the penalty spot after Davitts corner back Tommy Brogan cynically fouled a Killala midfielder bearing down on goal. Brogan rightly received a black card and the penalty was despatched with aplomb past the helpless Davitts keeper Eddie Kenny. Davitts points from Ronan Kirrane, Noel Cosgrove and Padraig Moran brought them to within three points of Killala but the visitors added two more points to lead by 1-5 to 0-3 at the break.

The introduction of Thomas Ward and Liam Kearns at the start of the second half had a major bearing on the outcome. Both linked up superbly together to set up a terrific goal finished by Danny O Gara. The deadly duo of Ward and Kearns struck again three minutes later with Ward doing all the donkeywork before setting up Kearns for a top class goal that had the home crowd on their feet. Two more fantastic Thomas Ward points cancelled out two Killala points to leave the game in the melting pot with ten minutes remaining. The terrible twins Ward and Kearns were on fire now but Killala managed to shoot over four points of the highest calibre. The Davitts team responded in the best fashion and a pear of points by Ward and the equaliser from Liam Kearns meant the game ended up in stalemate. Davitts ended the game with fourteen players after Ronan Kirrane was sent off for two bookable offences.

Best for Davitts were Seamus Daly, Joe Ryan, Gabriel Prendergast, Ronan Kirrane up to his dismissal, Liam Kearns and the superb Thomas Ward.

Davitts: Eddie Kenny, Tommy Brogan, Joe Ryan, Seamus Daly, Liam Griffin, Jimmy Kilkenny, Noel Cosgrove (0-1), Ronan Kirrane (0-1), Padraig Moran (0-1), Danny O Gara (1-0), PJ Noone, John Sheridan, Noel ‘Bird’ Heneghan, Tony Robinson, Tony Melvin. Subs used: Liam Kearns (1-1), Thomas Ward (0-4), PJ Barrett, Anthony Glynn, Sean Bourke, Michael Hett.

Scroll to top