Ballindine, Co. Mayo

May 19, 2019

Juniors v Hollymount Carramore – Match Report

Davitts Junior team were defeated by Hollymount Carramore, 2-7 to 0-9, in the second round of the County B Championship in Carramore on Sunday. All four teams in the group have now won a game each so it will come down to the wire in the final round robin matches, to see which two teams progress to the quarter final. Kiltimagh and Louisburgh are the other two teams involved in this ultra competitive group.

Davitts chances of victory took a huge blow very early on when star forward Stephen Nyland received a black card in what looked like a ridiculous decision made by the linesman. To say that both sets of supporters were surprised with the decision would be an under-statement.

Hollycarra started brightly pointing twice in the 4th and 8th minutes. Two Liam Noone frees levelled the game before the homeside pointed in the 18th minute and goaled two minutes later. Two more Liam Noone points and one from Hollycarra saw them lead by 1-4 to 0-4 at halftime.

Two early second half points from Shane Treacy and Liam Noone narrowed the game to a point but these were cancelled out by a brace from Hollycarra in the 8th and 11th minutes. Davitts then hit a purple spell as points from Shane Treacy, Darragh McGale and Seamus Roche levelled the game with twelve minutes remaining.

Hollycarra took the lead in the 27th minute and in injury time, with Davitts throwing everyone forward, the homeside sealed the win with a breakaway goal, to win by four points.

Davitts will play Louisburgh and Hollycarra play Kiltimagh in the next round, both games at neutral venues.

Davitts best players in this game were Cathal Moran, Liam Macken, Mark Ronayne, Shane Mitchell, Shane Treacy, and Liam Noone.

Davitts: David Mitchell, Tom Corless, Frankie Barrett, Cathal Moran, John Macken, James Cummins, Liam Macken, Shane Mitchell, William Freeley, Shane Treacy (0-2), Liam Noone (0-5), Tommy Clarke, Seamus Roche (0-1), Stephen Nyland, Darragh McGale (0-1). Subs used: Mark Ronayne, Aidan Macken, Gerald Griffin, Johnno Clarke, Richie Kilkenny, Micheal Mangan.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top