Ballindine, Co. Mayo

June 17, 2016

Juniors v Hollymount Carramore – Match Report

Davitts just edged out Hollymount Carramore by the minimum margin in the South Mayo Junior Championship after a cracking tie played in Ballindine on Wednesday evening. Davitts won the game by 0-12 to 0-11 but it easily could have swung the other way in a very competitive match. The quality of the point taking by both sides was a feature of the game.

Hollycarra led by 0-7 to 0-6 after playing with the wind in the first half and Davitts looked the more likely winners at this stage, having defended superbly throughout the first half. The home side could also thank goalie David Mitchell who produced two excellent saves in the first five minutes to save what looked like certain goals. Davitts scorers in the first half were Evan Ronayne (3), Sean Waldron, William Freeley, and Mattie Trench.

The visitors really took the game to Davitts from the start of the second half and they tagged on two fine early points to go three up. A tremendous solo effort from Shane Treacy narrowed the gap to two and Evan Ronayne, who had a brilliant game, left a point in it after twelve minutes. Micheal Mangan and Sean Waldron swapped points with Hollycarra who seemed to be doing just enough to keep their noses in front. A marvellous Paul Carey point from way out the field levelled the game with a minute of normal time remaining and it was fitting that young Evan Ronayne, a constant thorn in the visitors defence, shot the match winning point in injury time to give Davitts a much needed win in the competition.

Nobody could question the commitment of any players from either side as they gave their all with David Mitchell, John Costello, JP Kirrane, Sean Waldron, Mattie Trench and Evan Ronayne starring for Davitts, as well as lively sub Shane Treacy.

Davitts: David Mitchell, Patrick Keadin, John Costello, Martin Cosgrove, JP Kirrane, William Freeley (0-1), Tommy Clarke, Sean Waldron (0-2), Padraig Mangan, Micheal Mangan (0-1), Paul Carey (0-1), Mattie Trench (0-1), Evan Ronayne (0-5), Shane Mitchell, Gerald Griffin. Subs used: Shane Treacy (0-1), Donal Ronayne.

Scroll to top