Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 24, 2016

Juniors v Garrymore – Match Report

Garrymore defeated Davitts by a point, 1-9 to 1-8, in the replayed Semi-Final of the South Mayo Junior Championship on Wednesday evening in Ballindine. A point from a hotly disputed free kick late into injury time swung the match in the visitor’s favour.

The exchanges were tough throughout in front of a large attendance, with little to separate the sides at any stage of the match, but it was Garrymore that advanced to the A Final against Claremorris (with Ballindine the likely venue) while Davitts and Shrule Glencorrib will contest the B Final.

First half points from Clive Hennigan (2), Matthew Trench, Padraig Mangan and Liam Noone accounted for Davitts tally as the sides went in tied at 0-5 each at halftime.

An early second half goal from the visitors followed by a point put them four points ahead and Davitts looked in trouble. They fought back impressively however and Sean Waldron and Liam Noone pointed before Gerald Griffin scored an opportunistic goal and Davitts were in front with twelve minutes remaining. Garrymore equalised and then took the lead but Sean Waldron fired over a great point tie the game again. With extra time beckoning the referee Mark Tuffy awarded Garrymore a free in, a decision that will ensure he will never win a popularity contest in Ballindine or Irishtown, and Colm O Neill held his nerve well to shoot over the winner.

Every player gave their all in this game with John Costello, Lawrence Daly, Patrick Keadin, Micheal Mangan, Sean Waldron, Shane Treacy, Matthew Trench and Clive Hennigan showing up well.

Davitts: David Mitchell, Donie Ronayne, John Costello, Lawrence Daly, Patrick Keadin, Brian Clarke, Micheal Mangan, Sean Waldron (0-2), William Freeley, Shane Treacy, Padraig Mangan (0-1), Matthew Trench (0-1), Clive Hennigan (0-2), Gerald Griffin (1-0), Liam Noone (0-2). Subs used: Shane Mitchell, Paul Carey, Martin Cosgrove, Tommy Clarke.

Scroll to top