Ballindine, Co. Mayo

June 2, 2022

Junior v Hollymount Carramore match report

Davitts 2-7  Hollymount Carramore 1-6

Davitts and Hollymount Carramore clashed in this South Mayo Junior C’ship match in Ballindine on Wednesday evening with the home side coming out on top by four points after a strong second half showing.

Hollymount Carramore led by 1-4 to 0-3 at halftime, after playing against the wind in the opening half. Davitts were winning plenty of posession at midfield through the efforts of Johnno Clarke and Shane Mitchell, but could only manage points from Liam Kearns, Ryan McLoughlin and Danny Corless in that period.

The half time team talk by the Davitts management team of Billy Kearns, Tommy Ronayne and Liam Griffin proved very effective as their charges produced a much improved second half display. The introduction of substitutes Cathal Corless and Richie Kilkenny proved to be masterstrokes as Davitts got right back into the game with an early point by John Kilkenny and a 33rd minute goal by the lethal Richie Kilkenny after a fine move involving Ryan McLoughlin and Liam Kearns. A Liam Kearns point in the 40th minute saw Davitts take the lead but Hollycarra replied with two points in the 45th and 48th minutes to set up a tense finish to the game.

Cathal Corless squared the game in the 51st minute and the same player put Davitts ahead in the 57th minute before that man again, Richie Kilkenny, sealed the win with his second goal, rifling into the top corner after some clever play, two minutes before the full time whistle.

The Davitts defence was very impressive with all six defenders making life extremely difficult for the visitor’s attack, none more so than Sean Feerick who was outstanding. Danny Corless, Ryan McLoughlin and Liam Kearns worked very hard up front but it was the class of Richie Kilkenny and Cathal Corless that swung this game in Davitts favour.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Jordan Flanagan, Lawrence Daly, Sean Feerick, Brian Og McTigue, Micheal Hett, Liam Macken, Shane Mitchell, Johnno Clarke, Danny Corless (0-1), Liam Kearns (0-2), Aidan Macken, Ryan McLoughlin (0-1), John Kilkenny (0-1), Jack Devane. Subs used: Richie Kilkenny (2-0), Cathal Corless (0-2), Brian Clarke.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top