Ballindine, Co. Mayo

May 4, 2024

Junior C’ship v Ardnaree match report

Davitts 0-15  Ardnaree 0-11

Davitts and Ardnaree met in the first round of the Mayo Junior Championship in Ballindine on Friday evening with the home side winning by four points after a good contest.

Davitts got off to a dream start with points from Michael Hett (a superb effort), Darragh McGale, Brian Clarke, Fearghal McGrath, Johnno Clarke and Davey Hennessy and Tommy Waldron in the opening twelve minutes. Ardnaree replied with points in the 13th and 18th minutes before Davitts’ impressive midfielder Cian Naughton kicked over a long range point in the 20th minute. Two more points from the away side in the next two minutes cut Davitts lead to four but Darragh McGale and Johnno Clarke fired over two more before the break and Ardnaree finished the half with a point of their own, to leave Davitts ahead by 0-10 to 0-5 at the interval.

A 34th minute Davey Hennessy point opened the scoring in the second half but four points on the spin in the next ten minutes by the away side saw the lead being trimmed to three. Fionnan Gallagher pointed for Davitts in the 46th minute but Ardnaree weren’t going away without a fight and they shot another point in the 47th minute. The scores were hard to come by for the remainder of the game but the Clarke brothers Johnno and Brian gave Davitts some breathing space with 52nd and 58th minute scores. Ardnaree tried hard to get the goal they badly needed but couldn’t find a way past Tristan Diskin. All they could manage was an injury-time point as Davitts got their campaign off to a winning start.

Patrick Keadin, Brian Birmingham, Cian Naughton, Stephen Nyland, Johnno Clarke, Brian Clarke, Davey Hennessy and Darragh McGale were outstanding for the winners.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Patrick Keadin, Charlie Phillips, Brian Birmingham, Tommy Waldron (0-1), Fionnan Gallagher (0-1), Michael Hett (0-1), Cian Naughton (0-1), Stephen Nyland, Johnno Clarke (0-3), Fionn McLoughlin, Brian Clarke (0-2), Darragh McGale (0-2), Fearghal McGrath (0-1), Davey Hennessy (0-3). Subs used: Jack Devane, Thomas Ronayne, Sean Keadin, Mark Birmingham.

Scroll to top