Ballindine, Co. Mayo

November 9, 2021

Junior C’ship play-off v Claremorris match report

Davitts and Claremorris Juniors clashed on Saturday in a championship relegation play-off in Claremorris with the home side prevailing after extra time. The sides had ended level after normal time, thanks to a storming last quarter display from a gallant Davitts side, but Claremorris shot three unanswered points in extra time to see them through.

Claremorris looked the stronger team from the off and had built up a 1-8 to 0-4 lead at halftime. Davitts first half marksmen were Club secretary John Costello, Danny Corless, Shane Treacy and Fenton Kelly. Claremorris extended their advantage in the third quarter shooting six points to Davitts two supplied by Shane Treacy and Fenton Kelly. This margin would certainly have been greater were it not for some super goalkeeping from David Mitchell and staunch defending from Lar Daly, Jordan Flanagan and Brian Og McTigue.

Whatever the management team said at the second water break seemed to completely transform Davitts. The team came alive in the final quarter with midfielders Fenton Kelly and Johnno Clarke now in full flight and dominating the midfield exchanges. Claremorris were unable to cope with the strong running of those two players, Tom Corless, Thomas Ronayne and Shane Treacy. Fenton Kelly and Shane Treacy pointed immediately after the resumption and Ryan McLoughlin goaled a minute later and although Davitts were still six points behind the momentum had completely shifted. Tom Corless and Shane Treacy narrowed the gap to four points and a fine John Kilkenny goal left the minimum between the teams before Shane Treacy equalised. Davitts just couldn’t get their heads in front though before ref Brian Tuffy blew for full time.

Claremorris were able to introduce fresh players but Davitts had only the one sub to call on (the manager) and Claremorris controlled the extra time as the light faded rapidly. Claremorris shot three points in extra time while Davitts failed to add to their tally as they completely ran out of juice.

Davitts: David Mitchell, Micheal Hett, Lar Daly, Jordan Flanagan, Thomas Ronayne, Tom Corless (0-1), Brian Og McTigue, Johnno Clarke, Fenton Kelly (0-2), Tommy Clarke, Shane Treacy (0-6), Danny Corless (0-1), John Costello (0-1), John Kilkenny (1-0), Ryan McLoughlin (1-0). Sub used: Dara O Flaherty.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top