Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 3, 2023

Intermediate C’ship v Bonniconlon match report

Bonniconlon 0-8  Davitts 0-11

Davitts travelled to Bonniconlon for the second round of the Intermediate Championship on Saturday evening and won by three points after a cagey encounter. Davitts will now play Islandeady in the third group game where the winner will advance to the quarter finals.

Davitts opened the scoring in the first minute with a Jack Melvin point.  Man of the match Dylan Gallagher extended the lead in the 6th minute before Sean Neary got the home side off the mark with a point in the 11th minute. Dylan Gallagher pointed again a minute later but a pointed 45 metre kick by Richard McKenzie for the locals narrowed the gap to the minimum in the 14th minute. A Colm Boyle point and two from Dylan Gallagher saw Davitts extend their lead to four but two injury time pointed frees from Bonniconlon’s Sean Neary and one from Niall Treacy for Davitts saw the visitors lead by 0-7 to 0-4 at halftime.

Conor Redmond opened the second half scoring with a fine Bonniconlon point in the 33rd minute. Davitts points in the 40th and 43rd minutes from Dylan Gallagher and Niall Treacy saw them five up after the third quarter. Bonniconlon were trying hard to make inroads but Cathal Higgins, Jordan Flanagan, Sean Keadin, the hard working Mark Birmingham and Colm Boyle were defending ferociously in front of a confident Ronan McNamara in goals. Brian O Malley pointed for Bonny in the 48th minute but Davitts Niall Treacy cancelled that score out with a converted free in the 55th minute. Bonniconlon threw everything they had into their attack looking for a goal in the closing ten minutes but the Davitts defence held firm. The homeside managed points from Brian O Malley and Sean Neary before the final whistle with Dylan Gallagher shooting one for Davitts who were relatively comfortable winners without being overly impressive. A big improvement however will be required against Islandeady in the next round in a fortnight.

Davitts: Ronan McNamara, Cathal Higgins, Jordan Flanagan, Sean Keadin, Mark Ronayne, Thomas Ronayne, Cathal Corless, Mark Birmingham, Jack Melvin (0-1), Brian Og McTigue, Liam Kearns, Fenton Kelly, Colm Boyle (0-1), Dylan Gallagher (0-6), Niall Treacy (0-3). Subs used: Tom Corless, Darragh McGale.

Scroll to top