Ballindine, Co. Mayo

January 30, 2014

Dinner Dance 2014 – review

A large crowd attended Davitts GAA Club’s Dinner Dance held in Bourkes, Irishtown recently. Another successful season on the football field was recalled and a number of presentations were made.

Player of the Year awards were presented to Andrew Peters (U-21), Michael Waldron (Junior) and Paul Carey (Senior). Ronan Kirrane was a worthy recipient of the Clubperson of the Year award while Ken Egan was inducted to the Hall of Fame. The Junior Squad got their South Mayo A Championship winners medals after winning that competition for only the second time in the Club’s history.

There was a special presentation to Pete Warren for his outstanding contribution to the Club during his three year stint as Senior Team Manager. His selectors during that period, John Treacy, Ja Trench and Declan Kirrane were also honoured.

The final presentation of the night was made to Colm Boyle to mark his remarkable achievements in the past year which saw him win his first All-Star Award and also represent Ireland in the victorious Compromise Rules Series against Australia. As with Pete Warren, Colm received a standing ovation from the attendance as he accepted a beautiful piece of crystal to mark his outstanding year.

The inimitable Michael Commins was an excellent MC for the night while the music was provided by Golden Dreams. Once again Liam Griffin put on a fantastic display of dancing which had lads like Mark Ronayne, Clive Hennigan and Thomas Waldron looking on in awe. Pete Warren and Carlos O Gara also deserve a mention while Celia Griffin, Mary Freeley and Stephanie Warren showed some deft moves.

On a very enjoyable night, it would be wrong not to praise the professional work done by Nicholsons Catering and the staff at Bourkes.

Scroll to top