Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 18, 2011

Davitts v Breaffy – Senior League Division 1B

Davitts 2-6, Breaffy 2-13

This Senior league Div 1B game had its turning point as early as the 3rd minute, when Davitts, after a very bright start and having scored 1-1, lost their hugely influential midfielder Ronan McNamara with a knee injury. His loss was too much for the homeside to cope with especially since they were forced to line out minus the services of Colm Boyle, Colm Roche, Tommy Nolan, Keith Prendergast and Michael Conroy. Breaffy went on to dominate the midfield sector with Seamus and Aidan O Shea, Finian Canavan and Michael Conroy winning a lot of possession and led by 1-7 to 1-5 at halftime, their goal coming from Rory Martin in the 13th minute, cancelling out David McDonagh’s early Davitts goal.

Scores were hard to come by early on in the second half but an Alan Durcan free put Breaffy three points up after ten minutes. Davitts equalised three minutes later when Pat Coyne’s long ball was flicked onto the crossbar by McDonagh and Fergal McGrath reacted quickest, burying the rebound past a helpless Robert Hennelly. This score came at a huge cost to Davitts as David McDonagh, excellent up to this, was injured and he too had to retire. Breaffy assumed almost complete control after this and further frees from Durcan (3) and neat points from Declan Jennings and Colm Lyons and a Ronan Conway goal secured the league victory, Davitts only reply being a late Paul Carey point. In the closing minutes Davitts lost goalie Paddy Kirrane, who sustained a broken hand after bravely saving at the feet of Aidan O Shea, an incident which incensed the home supporters.

Breaffy’s best players were Gerry Jennings, Michael Jennings, Finian Canavan, Aidan O Shea, Seamus O Shea, Colm Lyons, Alan Durcan and sub Ronan Conway. Best for Davitts were Michael Waldron, Kevin Gallagher, Pat Coyne, Fergal McGrath, Aidan McTigue, Dave McDonagh and Carlos O Gara.

Breaffy: Rob Hennelly, David Gavin, Barry Kelly, Colm Kelly, Gerry Jennings, Michael Jennings, Brian Howley, Seamus O Shea, Finian Canavan (0-1), Rory Martin (1-0), Aidan O Shea, Matthew Conroy, Declan Jennings (0-1), Colm Lyons (0-3), Alan Durcan (0-7). Subs used: Ronan Conway (1-1), Colm Jordan, Eddie Conroy.

Davitts: Paddy Kirrane, Frankie Barrett, Kevin Gallagher, Johnno Clarke, James Cummins, Pat Coyne, Ronan McNamara, Paul Carey (0-1), Liam Kearns (0-3), Keith Glynn, Fergal McGrath (1-0), Aidan McTigue (0-1), Dave McDonagh (1-1), Carlos O Gara. Subs used: John Heneghan, Seamus Roche, Martin Cosgrove, David Mitchell.

Scroll to top