Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 14, 2009

Davitts v Belmullet Intermediate C’ship playoff

The intermediate team played Belmullet , in the championship playoff, on Sunday in sun drenched Bonnyconlon and both teams will probably be happy to come away with a draw, the final score was Davitts 0-11, Belmullet 1-8. Amazingly, the County Board hadn’t decided that extra time was a requirement in the event of a draw, so both teams will have to play again in Bonnyconlon on Saturday evening next, a most unsatisfactory fixture for all those intending travelling to Croke Park to support the Mayo minor team on Sunday, but maybe an indication as to what value the County Board put to this competition.

This was a very entertaining game, with never more than two points separating the teams, and Davitts finished the game strongly with injury time points by Paul Carey and a massive David McDonagh sideline, from sixty yards, to force the replay, with the last kick of the game.

Davitts captain Paul Carey, who was a real driving force especially when operating around midfield in the second half, had a great chance to win the game, on the stroke of full time, but his penalty kick, after sub Seamus Roche was fouled, went inches wide (many, many inches) of David Padden’s goal. Brendan Devane proved to be an able replacement for the injured Paddy Kirrane in the Davitts goal, and got great protection from the excellent full backline of Tommy Nolan, Frankie Barrett and Kevin Gallagher. Colm Boyle was inspirational at centre half back and his two long range points, off either foot, kept Davitts in touch when Belmullet looked like they were about to take control of the game, midway through the second half.

Johnno Clarke, the evergreen David McDonagh, Pat Coyne, Carey, Liam Kearns and Fergal McGrath, in the last ten minutes, all played superbly to keep Davitts in the championship. Davitts selector John Noone was banished to the stand by referee Ronan Gurren, who had an excellent game, for his over exhuberent questioning of a dubious sideline call fifteen minutes into the game.

Davitts team:

Brendan Devane, Tommy Nolan, Frankie Barrett, Kevin Gallagher, Johnno Clarke (0-1), Colm Boyle (0-2), Derek Mooney, Pat Coyne, David McDonagh (0-1), Liam Kearns (0-1), Paul Carey (0-2), Colm Roche, Fergal McGrath (0-1), Aidan McTigue (0-1), Keith Prendergast (0-2). Subs used: Michael Ronayne and Seamus Roche.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top