Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 30, 2013

Davitts v Ballinrobe – Match Report

Ballinrobe 1-11 Davitts 2-9

Davitts came out on top in this tense Senior League Div 1D clash played in Ballinrobe on Sunday. With both teams desperate for the two league points on offer, Davitts just about deserved to win, a win that gives them some breathing space towards the bottom of the league table. Ballinrobe will rue a number of missed scoring chances, including a second half Mark Walkin penalty, expertly saved by Davitts custodian Adrian McNamara.

Ballinrobe looked the more likely side in the opening quarter of this game after Keith Prendergast had put Davitts in front in the first minute. Points from Kenneth O Malley, Peter Staunton, and a brace from full forward Mark Walkin had the home side ahead but a slick Davitts move ending with Andrew Peters picking out Michael Conroy, who goaled expertly, left the sides level after 20 minutes. Josh Ronayne put Davitts ahead a minute later before points from Ray McGreal, Donal Vaughan and Joseph Burke had the homeside ahead by two but Davitts finished the half well with points from Josh Ronayne and two long range Ronan McNamara frees to lead by 1-5 to 0-7 at halftime.

Davitts came out with all guns blazing in the second half and went seven points up after points from Paul Carey, Josh Ronayne, Thomas Waldron and a Colm Boyle goal. Ballinrobe fought back with Donal Vaughan leading the charge after being moved to midfield. Substitute Darren McDonnell and Peter Staunton (2) pointed for the homeside before David Killeen flicked a Ray McGreal cross to the net to leave a point between the sides with five minutes remaining. An inspirational point from Colm Boyle lifted the siege for Davitts and a Donal Vaughan point for Ballinrobe finished the scoring with the Davitts defence holding out well against a late Ballinrobe onslaught.

Outstanding for Davitts were Adrian McNamara, Kevin Gallagher, James Cummins, Colm Boyle, Ronan McNamara, Josh Ronayne, Thomas Waldron and Michael Conroy.

Ballinrobe’s best players were Kenneth O Malley, Eugene O Malley, Ray McGreal, David Killeen, Peter Staunton and Donal Vaughan.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Colm Roche, Cathal Higgins, Kevin Gallagher, James Cummins, Alan Roche, Colm Boyle (1-1), Ronan McNamara (0-2), Paul Carey (0-1), Josh Ronayne (0-3), David McDonagh, Keith Prendergast (0-1), Thomas Waldron (0-1), Andrew Peters, Michael Conroy (1-0). Subs used: Michael Waldron, Liam Kearns.

Ballinrobe: Kenneth O Malley (0-1), David O Connor, Eugene O Malley, Ruadhri Keane, Phelim Reilly, Ray McGreal (0-1), James Murphy, David Killeen (1-0), Ronan McMahon, Joseph Burke (0-1), Peter Staunton (0-3), Conor Keane, James Quinn, Mark Walkin (0-2), Donal Vaughan (0-2). Subs used: Darren McDonnell (0-1).

Scroll to top