Ballindine, Co. Mayo

October 24, 2011

Davitts secure promotion to Division 1A

Davitts 1-16

Kiltimagh 1-7

Davitts made light work of the heavy underfoot conditions in Ballindine on Saturday and defeated Kiltimagh rather comfortably to secure promotion to Div 1A of the Senior League for the coming season. Davitts fitness levels proved crucial as Kiltimagh just couldn’t live with the homeside who played some sparkling football at times in this game. Davitts led by 0-2 to 0-1 after a rather sluggish opening quarter, Michael Conroy with two excellent efforts from play for Davitts and Ciaran Charlton replying for Kiltimagh from a free. A seven minute blitz put Davitts firmly in control with points from Fergal McGrath, Keith Prendergast and four from the superb Conroy. Tomas Keegan from play and a Ciaran Charlton free narrowed the gap but Johnno Clarke scored a brilliant point just on halftime to leave Davitts ahead by 0-9 to 0-3 at halftime.

Conroy fired over another class point a minute into the second half but Kiltimagh fought back with points from Charlton and Keegan. Three brilliant scores from Ronan McNamara, Conroy and Paul Carey in the 39th and 40th minute and a superb goal finished by Fergal McGrath in the 42nd minute really killed the game off, after great work by McNamara, Alan Roche, Conroy and Aidan McTigue. Kiltimagh as always refused to lie down and Brian Gallagher pointed with ten minutes remaining. Davitts responded through Liam Kearns and Keith Prendergast before Tomas Keegan converted a penalty, after David Lydon was brought down, and Charlton pointed a free with the last kick of the game to complete the scoring.

Outstanding for Davitts were Colm and Alan Roche, Colm Boyle and Johnno Clarke in defence. Ronan McNamara and Paul Carey were superb at midfield while Keith Prendergast, Fergal McGrath and Liam Kearns impressed in attack alongside inspirational captain Michael Conroy.

Kiltimagh’s beat performers were Johnny Murtagh, Damian Gallagher, Conor Heneghan, Tomas Keegan, Brian Gallagher and Ciaran Charlton.

Davitts: Mark Diskin, Colm Roche, Frankie Barrett, Kevin Gallagher, Johnno Clarke (0-1), Alan Roche, Ronan McNamara (0-2), Paul Carey (0-1), Keith Prendergast (0-2), David McDonagh, Pat Coyne, Aidan McTigue, Fergal McGrath (1-1), Michael Conroy (0-8). Subs used: Josh Ronayne, Liam Kearns (0-1), Carlos O Gara, Seamus Roche, Shane Mitchell.

Kiltimagh: Ian Corry, Philip Larkin, Johnny Murtagh, Damian Gallagher, Mattie Cummins, Conor Heneghan, Paul Regan, Aidan Lydon, Barry McCarthy, David Lydon, Paul Lydon, Tomas Keegan (1-2), Brian Gallagher (0-1), Liam Lydon, Ciaran Charlton (0-4). Sub used: Gabriel Murtagh.

Referee: Eamon McAndrew.

Scroll to top