Ballindine, Co. Mayo

August 15, 2011

Davitts retain Michael Walsh Cup

Davitts: 1-10

Burrishoole: 1-08

Davitts retained their Michael Walsh Intermediate League title in Castlebar on Sunday, defeating Burrishoole in a closely fought affair. Davitts can attribute this victory to their outstanding midfielder Ronan McNamara, the superb forward play of Michael Conroy and a very disiplined last ten minutes defensive display by the whole team.

Davitts, playing with the stiff wind in the first half, were playing second fiddle to Burrishoole in the first quarter, until an Aidan McTigue goal, after excellent work by Frankie Barrett, Keith Glynn and Paul Carey, set them alight. Four top class points by Conroy left Davitts in front by 1-6 to 0-4 at the interval.

Burrishoole got the dream start to the second half when a defensive mix-up in the Davitts defence allowed the impressive Enda McManamon to flick a long centre to the net. They levelled the game with points from Enda McMamamon (2) and Michael Moran after Michael Conroy had scored another beauty from way out on the wing. Aidan McTigue and Enda McMenamon swapped points before man of the match Ronan McNamara scored a monster 60 metres free into the wind. An Adrian McManamon free and a Davitts point from play by Liam Kearns completed the scoring.

Best for Davitts along with McNamara and Conroy were Colm Roche, Kevin Gallagher, Aidan McTigue and Carlos O Gara.

Burrishoole’s best were Michael Joyce, Alan Moran, Paraic Holmes, Adrian McManamon, Michael Moran and Enda McManamon.

Davitts team: Mark Diskin, Colm Roche, Frankie Barrett, Kevin Gallagher, Johnno Clarke, Colm Boyle, James Cummins, Ronan McNamara (0-3), Paul Carey, Fergal McGrath, Keith Glynn, Keith Prendergast, Aidan McTigue (1-1), Dave McDonagh, Michael Conroy (0-5). Subs used: Carlos O Gara, Martin Cosgrove, Josh Ronayne, Liam Kearns (0-1) and Michael Waldron.

Check back soon for some photos of the game…

Scroll to top