Ballindine, Co. Mayo

June 14, 2011

Congratulations to Irishtown NS Girls!

Congratulations to Irishtown NS Girls!

Congratulations to the Irishtown N.S. girls team that won the county Div 4 Cumann na mBunscol final in superb fashion, defeating Errew by 2-11 to 0-2, in Castlebar on Saturday. The Irishtown girls were on top from the throw in with Rebecca Waldron, Eilis Ronayne, Ciara Clarke and team captain Emma Corr in terrific form, and they led by 0-6 to 0-1 at the break. Whatever chance the Errew girls had evaporated in the first few minutes of the second half with Rebecca Waldron goaling and Ciara Clarke and Emma Corr adding two good points.

Errew kept trying hard but a second Irishtown goal from Ciara Clarke , after good work by Eilis Ronayne, sealed the win late in the second half. This is the second year in a row that Irishtown have won this competition and the future looks very bright for the Davitts Ladies. Well done to team coach Ger Conroy on this great achievement and who knows maybe next year a three in a row beckons?

Irishtown team: Maeve McWalter, Emma Corr (0-2), Eilis Ronayne (0-1), Rebecca Waldron (1-7), Ciara Clarke (1-1), Niamh Meehan, Chloe Goggins, Leanne Daly, Niamh Huane, Caoimhe Rodgers, Emer Hynes, Khwan Glynn, Saoirse Melvin, Rachel Fallon, Shauna Ryan, Sophie Raftery, Catriona Ronayne.

Scroll to top