Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 1, 2012

Ballintubber too strong for Davitts – Senior Football Championship – Match Report

Ballintubber: 1-13

Davitts: 0-9

Ballintubber showed why they are the County Senior Champions with a powerful display over Davitts in Clogher on Sunday and on the evidence of this game, they will not be relinquishing their crown too easily. Ballintubber, playing with wind advantage in the first half, were swiftly out of the traps, dominating at midfield through Danny Geraghty and man of the match Jason Gibbons, and led by 0-7 to 0-0 before Fergal McGrath opened Davitts account with a point in the 29th minute. Ballintubber responded with points from Cillian O Connor (free) and Alan Dillon to lead by 0-9 to 0-1 at half time. Ballintubber’s goalkeeper Brendan Walsh had made a superb save in the 13th minute when Michael Conroy engineered a great chance for himself.

Cillian O Connor extended their lead to nine points with another free (his fifth) in the 3rd minute of the second half. Colm Boyle pulled one back a minute later but the game’s crucial score came in the 7th minute when Padraig O Connor was on the end of a sweeping move to blast past the helpless Mark Diskin, the Davitts custodian. Two minutes later Fergal McGrath put Josh Ronayne through on goal but his piledriver came crashing off the post. Alan Dillon fisted another point in the 12th minute to leave the homeside ahead by 1-12 to 0-3 but Davitts to their credit battled back with great spirit. Points from Paul Carey (2), Josh Ronayne, David McDonagh, Ronan McNamara and Michael Conroy put a more respectable look on the scoreboard with Damien McGing supplying the homeside’s only reply.

Davitts will rue the missing of a few clearcut goal chances but Ballintubber are a fine side and will take all the beating in this year’s championship. Their top performers in this game were Brendan Walsh, Myles Kelly, Tom Early, Danny Geraghty, Jason Gibbons, Damien Coleman, Alan Dillon, Damien McGing and Cillian and Padraig O Connor.

Best for Davitts were Paul Carey, Colm Boyle, Colm and Alan Roche, James Cummins, Pat Coyne and Michael Conroy.

Ballintubber: Brendan Walsh, Liam Tunney, Cathal Hallinan, Paul Early, Myles Kelly, Tom Early, Ruaidhri O Connor, Danny Geraghty (0-1), Jason Gibbons, Damien Coleman (0-1), Alan Dillon (0-2), Alan Plunkett, Damien McGing (0-2), Cillian O Connor (0-6), Padraig O Connor (1-1).

Davitts: Mark Diskin, Colm Roche, Tommy Nolan, Kevin Gallagher, Alan Roche, Colm Boyle (0-1), James Cummins, Ronan McNamara (0-1), Pat Coyne, Paul Carey (0-2), Josh Ronayne (0-1), Keith Prendergast, Aidan McTigue, Fearghal McGrath (0-1), Michael Conroy (0-2). Subs used: David McDonagh (0-1), Carlos O Gara, Liam Kearns.

Scroll to top