Ballindine, Co. Mayo

November 28, 2016

AGM 2016–Officers & Committee Elected

Davitts GAA Club held their AGM in the Clubhouse on Sunday evening. Chairman Frank Hyland welcomed the large attendance to the meeting. Michael Waldron gave a detailed run down on the Club’s financial state in his treasurer’s report.

In an excellent final secretary’s report Ronan Kirrane looked back on a successful season with the Senior team’s promotion to Division 1A of the League as Division 1B champions and the completion of the impressive Clubhouse, the two major highlights. Being the top selling club in the country in the Croke Park National Draw was another highlight and showed what can be achieved through hard work and the generosity of the community. He congratulated the Senior Team players and management for the League success. He congratulated Colm Boyle on receiving a third All-Star award and local man Paul Cunnane on being recognized as the top PRO in the country. He praised the inspirational Shane Halligan who is now operating as kit man with the Mayo team just over a year after having a double lung transplant. He thanked the hard working committee, sponsors, ticket sellers and buyers and all of the Club’s volunteers. He wished the incoming secretary Darina Daly the best of luck as his successor and will assist in any way possible.

The following officers were elected for the coming season:

Patron: Fr Martin O Connor.
Presidents: Patsy Higgins, Michael Mooney.
Vice President: Mick Roche.
Chairman: Frank Hyland.
Vice Chairman: Lar Daly.
Secretary: Darina Daly.
Assistant Secretary: Ronan Kirrane, JP Kirrane.
Treasurer: Michael Waldron.
Assistant Treasurer: John Noone.
PRO: Joe Reapy.
County Board Delegate: Sean Higgins.
South Board Delegates: Michael Hynes, Michael Waldron.
Bord Na nÓg Chairman: Liam Nyland.
Bord Na nÓg Secretary: JP Kirrane.
Children’s Officer: Anna Noone.
Health and Wellbeing Officer: Catherine Sweeney.
Committee: Above Officers plus Louis Prendergast, Breda Waldron, Anthony Hennelly, Billy Kearns, Lucy Daly, Tom Garvey, Liam Kearns and Frank Lyons.

Scroll to top