Ballindine, Co. Mayo

Month: August 2017

August 31, 2017


Members only to apply for tickets by by Tuesday September 5th at 8pm.

No late orders will be accepted.

Please contact only one of the following:

Darina Daly @ 0879578934

Frank Hyland @ 0877392698

Ronan Kirrane @ 0879520169

Sean Higgins @ 0861984588

Demand always exceeds supply.

Unfortunately we will not have enough tickets and as a result members may be disappointed.

Please use all other avenues available to source tickets….

August 29, 2017

Fixtures for Week Commencing 28th Aug 2017

Thursday Aug 31st, County U-16 D Championship Final: Davitts v Crossmolina in McHale Park, Castlebar at 7pm.

Saturday Sept 2nd, Senior League Div 1D: Davitts v Kilmeena in Ballindine at 6.30pm.

Sunday Sept 3rd, County Minor B Championship: Davitts v Breaffy in Ballindine at 11.30am.

August 24, 2017

U-16s v Cill Chomain – Match Report

Davitts U-16 team qualified for the Final of the County D Championship with a 1-15 to 1-13 victory over Cill Chomain in Ballindine on Tuesday evening after an entertaining match played in difficult wet conditions.

Davitts looked the better team in the first half but despite having the lions share of possession, through the midfield promptings of Stephen Nyland and Sean Feerick, only led by two points, 0-9 to 1-4, at halftime. The Davitts first half scorers were Niall Treacy (0-3), Jack Devane, Fentan Kelly and Stephen Nyland (0-4).

The third quarter of the game belonged to the home side and points from Fentan Kelly, Fionan Gallagher and Stephen Nyland (2) put Davitts six ahead and when Fenton Kelly blasted home a terrific goal it looked like the game was over as a contest.

Cill Chomain finished the game strongly with a series of well taken points and were still closing in when referee Ronan Gurren blew the final whistle, to the relief of the home team.

Davitts had top performances from Oisin O Connor, rampaging wing back Fionan Gallagher, Sean Feerick, Stephen Nyland, Fentan Kelly, Niall Treacy and Zack Keadin.

Davitts: Gavin Ring, Oisin O Connor, Thomas Ronayne, Micheal Hett, John Wallace, Fionan Gallagher (0-1), Sean Feerick, Stephen Nyland (0-8), Fentan Kelly (1-2), Niall Treacy (0-3), Zack Keadin, Jack Devane (0-1), Jack Trench.

August 21, 2017

Fixtures For Week Commencing 21st Aug 2017

Tuesday Aug 22nd, County U-16 D Championship: Davitts v Cill Choman in Ballindine at 7pm.

Friday August 25th, County Minor B Championship: Ardnaree v Davitts in Ardnaree at 7pm.

August 21, 2017

All Ireland Semi Final Replay–Tickets

All Ireland Semi Final Replay Mayo v Kerry is next Saturday at 3pm.

**All those who wish to order tickets can do so by texting Club Secretary on 0879578934. Deadline is 1pm Tuesday.**


August 21, 2017

Juniors v Shrule Glencorrib – Match Report

Shrule Glencorrib 2-10 Davitts 1-9

Shrule Glencorrib captured the South Mayo Junior B Title with a four point victory over Davitts in Ballinrobe on Saturday evening.

After a very tentative opening to the game, Shrule Glencorrib were first to strike with a James Fitzgerald point followed by a neat goal from their livewire corner forward Paul Mullin. Davitts replied with points from Clive Hennigan and Richie Kilkenny but Shrule Glencorrib dominated the remainder of the half. Points from Paul Mullin, the very influential Kenneth Mortimer, James Fitzgerald (2), Brian Flood and a fine Conor McMorrow goal, with Gerald Griffin supplying Davitts sole reply with a neatly taken point, had Shrule Glencorrib ahead by 2-6 to 0-3 at the break.

Davitts were more purposeful after the break and three Clive Hennigan points and one from John Kilkenny narrowed the gap to five points and when a long range John Costello free ended up in the back of the Shrule Glencorrib net only two points separated the sides with twelve minutes remaining. Shrule Glencorrib regained their composure however and three points from Trevor Mortimer, a second half sub, lifted the siege for Shrule Glencorrib. They added another point through Conor Bohan with Clive Hennigan pointing twice for Davitts to leave Shrule Glencorrib the winners by four points.

Best for Shrule Glencorrib were Conor Bohan, James Monaghan, James Lohan, Conor McMorrow, Kenny Mortimer, James Fitzgerald, Paul Mullin and Trevor Mortimer.

Davitts had fine performers in Shane Mitchell, Gerard McWalter, Martin Cosgrove, Patrick Keadin, John Kilkenny, Clive Hennigan and Richie Kilkenny.

Shrule Glencorrib: Gary Hennelly, Joe Geraghty, Rory Craddock, Eoghan Martyn, Conor Bohan (0-1), James Monaghan, James Lohan , Conor McMorrow (1-0), James Fitzgerald (0-3), Kenny Mortimer (0-1), James Payne, David Fitzgerald, Paul Mullin (1-1). Subs used: Trevor Mortimer (0-3), Brian Flood (0-1), Mark McMorrow, Adrian Halligan.

Davitts: Shane Mitchell, Gerard McWalter, Tom Corless, Patrick Keadin, Lawrence Daly, Martin Cosgrove, John Costello (1-0), William Freeley, John Kilkenny (0-1), Gerald Griffin (0-1), Tommy Clarke, Richie Kilkenny (0-1), Clive Hennigan (0-6). Subs used: Ryan McLoughlin, Kevin Gallagher, Seamus Roche.

August 17, 2017

Four-Goal Glynn Guides U-14s To Hard Fought South Mayo ‘A’ Title

U-14 Panel 2017

Davitts captured the South Mayo U-14 A Title with a hard fought 6-7 to 2-13 victory over a gallant Ballinrobe side in Ballinrobe on Wednesday night. Goals win games and Davitts corner forward Bon Glynn proved to be the hero for his team striking four crucial goals, two in the opening minutes of either half.

Those two early Bon Glynn goals, two more from influential midfielder Fenton Kelly and star forward Jack Devane, and points from Jack Melvin, Jack Devane and Fenton Kelly (2) had Davitts ahead by 4-4 to 2-5 at the interval.

When the lethal Glynn struck for two more well taken goals in the opening minutes of the second half it looked like Davitts would romp home but Ballinrobe fought back strongly and they added eight second half points but couldn’t find a way through for a goal due to excellent defending by the Davitts lads. Jack Melvin and Jack Devane (2) landed Davitts second half points as the Club claimed its second South U-14 A Title in three years.

Tristan Diskin was solid in goals with the outstanding Micheal Hett, Thomas Ronayne, Fionan Gallagher, Cathal Corless, Cathal Devane and captain Brian Og McTigue were all superb in defence. Fenton Kelly had a fine game at midfield, ably assisted by the hardworking John Wallace until injury forced him to retire midway through the second half. Up front Bon Glynn was the matchwinner with Jack Devane, Joe Prendergast, Davie Hennessy, Jack Melvin, Dylan Gallagher and Brian Bermingham combining effectively throughout the match.

Mike King, secretary of the South Mayo Board, presented the cup to Davitts captain Brian Og McTigue after the game to the delight of the large Davitts crowd.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Fionan Gallagher, Micheal Hett, Cathal Devane, Cathal Corless, Thomas Ronayne, Brian Og McTigue, Fenton Kelly (1-2), John Wallace, Jack Devane (1-3), Joe Prendergast, Jack Melvin (0-2), Dylan Gallagher, Davie Hennessy, Bon Glynn (4-0). Sub used: Brian Bermingham.

Scroll to top