Ballindine, Co. Mayo

Month: November 2016

November 28, 2016

AGM 2016–Officers & Committee Elected

Davitts GAA Club held their AGM in the Clubhouse on Sunday evening. Chairman Frank Hyland welcomed the large attendance to the meeting. Michael Waldron gave a detailed run down on the Club’s financial state in his treasurer’s report.

In an excellent final secretary’s report Ronan Kirrane looked back on a successful season with the Senior team’s promotion to Division 1A of the League as Division 1B champions and the completion of the impressive Clubhouse, the two major highlights. Being the top selling club in the country in the Croke Park National Draw was another highlight and showed what can be achieved through hard work and the generosity of the community. He congratulated the Senior Team players and management for the League success. He congratulated Colm Boyle on receiving a third All-Star award and local man Paul Cunnane on being recognized as the top PRO in the country. He praised the inspirational Shane Halligan who is now operating as kit man with the Mayo team just over a year after having a double lung transplant. He thanked the hard working committee, sponsors, ticket sellers and buyers and all of the Club’s volunteers. He wished the incoming secretary Darina Daly the best of luck as his successor and will assist in any way possible.

The following officers were elected for the coming season:

Patron: Fr Martin O Connor.
Presidents: Patsy Higgins, Michael Mooney.
Vice President: Mick Roche.
Chairman: Frank Hyland.
Vice Chairman: Lar Daly.
Secretary: Darina Daly.
Assistant Secretary: Ronan Kirrane, JP Kirrane.
Treasurer: Michael Waldron.
Assistant Treasurer: John Noone.
PRO: Joe Reapy.
County Board Delegate: Sean Higgins.
South Board Delegates: Michael Hynes, Michael Waldron.
Bord Na nÓg Chairman: Liam Nyland.
Bord Na nÓg Secretary: JP Kirrane.
Children’s Officer: Anna Noone.
Health and Wellbeing Officer: Catherine Sweeney.
Committee: Above Officers plus Louis Prendergast, Breda Waldron, Anthony Hennelly, Billy Kearns, Lucy Daly, Tom Garvey, Liam Kearns and Frank Lyons.

November 22, 2016

U-21’s v Ballintubber – Match Report

Davitts bowed out of the County U-21 A Championship on Sunday when they were defeated by 3-16 to 1-10 away to Ballintubber. A powerful second quarter display by the homeside in which they outscored Davitts by 2-6 to 0-2 killed the visitor’s challenge and although Davitts fought bravely right to the finish it was Ballintubber who advanced to the semi-final.

Davitts trailed by 2-9 to 0-5 at the break with the lively Evan Ronayne (2), Conor Keane, Thomas Waldron and Cathal Hennelly on target. Many of the Ballintubber scores came from silly mistakes but they finished clinically, especially in that second quarter.

Davitts were much better after the break with the whole team putting in a huge effort. Driven on by Michael Waldron, the Mangan brothers, Kieran Fahy, William Freeley, Thomas Waldron, Jack Ronayne and Gerald Griffin they began to close the gap with points from Liam Noone, Gerald Griffin and Mattie Trench and a fine Jack Ronayne goal to leave five points between the sides but this was as close as Davitts could get to the impressive winners.

Davitts: Mikey Kelly, Patrick Keadin, Padraig Mangan, Michael Waldron, Kieran Fahy (0-1), Micheal Mangan, Shane Treacy, Cathal Hennelly (0-1), William Freeley, Jack Ronayne (1-0), Thomas Waldron (0-1), Mattie Trench (0-1), Conor Keane (0-1), Liam Noone (0-2), Evan Ronayne (0-2). Subs used: Gerald Griffin (0-1), James Murphy.

November 21, 2016

Seniors Draw With Belmullet to Capture League 1B Title

Belmullet 0-7 Davitts 0-7

Davitts captured the Mayo Senior League Division 1B title in Belmullet on Saturday where the league points were divided between the hosts and the South Mayo men after a competitive match between two understrength sides.

Shane Mitchell opened the scoring for Davitts in the eighth minute but Jason Boylan and the very lively Darren Docherty pointed to put the hosts ahead after the first quarter, with both defences on top, as they were throughout the game. Ronan Murray with two points for Belmullet and two from Davitts midfielder Keith Prendergast left Belmullet ahead by 0-4 to 0-3 at the break.

Davitts full back Cathal Higgins tied the game three minutes after the interval but Jason Boylan pointed to give the homeside the lead five minutes later. Seamus Roche equalised with a neat point but scores from sub Andrew Howard, and the influential midfielder Shane Nallen had the hosts ahead by two points as the game entered the last ten minutes.

Two fine points from Paul Carey and Seamus Roche tied the game and both teams would have been happy with the result, Davitts claiming the title and Belmullet ensuring their safety in the division regardless of happenings elsewhere.

Both sides were short of a number of regulars but Davitts had fine performers in Micheal Mangan, Colm Roche, Cathal Higgins, Keith Prendergast, Seamus Roche and Paul Carey.

Best for the homeside were Anthony Mills, Damien Padden, Shane Nallen, Ronan Murray, Darren Doherty and Jason Boylan.

Belmullet: Sean Heston, Damien Reilly, Anthony Mills, John Coyle, Cillian Dixon, Damien Padden, Conor Togher, Paddy Barrett, Shane Nallen (0-1), Ronan Murray (0-2), Darren Doherty (0-1), Jason Boylan (0-2), PJ McGinty, Henry Gaughan, Ian Togher. Subs used: Andrew Howard (0-1), Brendan McGrath, Derek McDonnell.

Davitts: Micheal Mangan, Colm Roche, Cathal Higgins, (0-1), Lawrence Daly, James Cummins, Johnno Clarke, Kevin Gallagher, Keith Prendergast (0-2), Declan Healy, Thomas Waldron, Liam Kearns, Andrew Peters, Seamus Roche (0-2), Shane Mitchell (0-1), Paul Carey (0-1). Subs used: Patrick Keadin, Padraig Mangan.

November 15, 2016

Two Big fixtures This Weekend (19 & 20 Nov)

Saturday November 19th, Senior League Division 1B, Belmullet v Davitts in Belmullet at 3pm.

Sunday November 20th, County U-21 A Championship Quarter-Final, Ballintubber v Davitts in Clogher at 1pm.

November 14, 2016

Davitts Committees

Davitts Committee and Building Committee attend their last meeting before the AGM which takes place on Sunday November 27th at 6pm in the Clubhouse. New members very welcome!

General Committee:

Building Committee:


November 7, 2016

Colm Boyle – All Star (Once Again)


Congratulations to Colm Boyle who collected his third All-Star award for his exploits for Mayo this year. What an unbelievable achievement by a player who is admired throughout the country for his tremendous determination, courage and leadership as well as his undoubted footballing ability. He is a wonderful role model for all our young players and all at Davitts Club are very proud to have him in our ranks.

Scroll to top