Ballindine, Co. Mayo

Month: March 2012

March 8, 2012

Bord ná n-Óg Registration Saturday night (10th March)

Registration night for all underage members takes place Saturday 10th of March from 7:30pm to 9:30pm in the Community Centre Ballindine. For insurance purposes every child intending to play is required by Croke Park to be a paid up member.

Youth membership costs €30, adult membership costs €50. However the club offer full family membership with the purchase of the club and county board €100 ticket. Once the club sell its quota of these tickets then €90 of any extra tickets sold stays with Davitts GAA Club. These funds are used for registration of teams and members, buses throughout the year, week-to-week running of the club, and, ultimately building new dressing rooms.

March 4, 2012

O’Mara Cup v Kilmaine – Match Report

Davitts 1-13

Kilmaine 1-6

Davitts hosted and defeated Kilmaine on Sunday in the O Mara Cup in front of another large attendance. Davitts started brightly and raced into a 1-5 to 0-0 lead after fifteen minutes with points from the impressive Josh Ronayne (2) and Michael Conroy (3) and an excellent Fergal McGrath goal after an intricate move involving seven players. Kilmaine chipped away at the lead to get back into the game and Davitts led by 1-6 to 0-4 at half time, the final point another fine effort from Josh Ronayne.

In the second half Davitts captain Ronan McNamara led from the front and he scored six superb frees as Davitts eased to a rather comfortable victory. Ronayne supplied the other point to cap off a very good individual display.

Best for Davitts in this game were Colm Roche, Kevin Gallagher, Alan Roche, James Cummins, Ronan McNamara, Keith Prendergast, Josh Ronayne and Michael Conroy (who came off at half time).

Davitts: David Mitchell, Colm Roche, Michael Waldron, Kevin Gallagher, Johnno Clarke, Alan Roche, James Cummins, Ronan McNamara (0-6), John Heneghan, Keith Prendergast, Paul Carey, Josh Ronayne (0-4), Liam Kearns, Fergal McGrath (1-0), Michael Conroy (0-3). Subs used: Seamus Roche, Aidan McTigue, Mark Ronayne, Martin Cosgrove.

Scroll to top