Ballindine, Co. Mayo

Month: January 2012

January 8, 2012

Dinner Dance Slideshow – get your copy!!!

Due to popular demand, the Slideshow Review of 2011 which was presented at the Dinner Dance last week will soon be available to all. The Slideshow will be available on a CD, and will be sold for the modest price of just €10, with all proceeds going to the ongoing Davitts Fundraising effort. The Slideshow takes a light-hearted look back at 2011 and includes the people who made the year the outstanding success that it was – the players, the management, the clubmen (and women) and of course the supporters! This CD will make a great momento from our incredible year both now and indeed in years to come.

There is already a large demand for these CDs, and supply IS limited, so in order to secure a copy, you must order one from:

Ronan Kirrane (secretary.davitts.mayo@gaa.ie or 087 9520169)

Noel Reapy (noelreapy@hotmail.com or 087 6140516)

Joe Reapy (joereapy@gmail.com or 086 8156254)

January 7, 2012

Dinner Dance review

Davitts GAA Club celebrated a year of unprecedented success on the playing fields (as can be seen by the quantity of silverware on show), at a memorable Dinner Dance in a packed McWilliam Park Hotel on Friday night, along with guest of honour, the legendary Michael O’Muircheartaigh. Liam Horan did a superb job as MC, entertaining the crowd with his unique sense of humour and ensuring that things ran smoothly. He got the night off to a wonderful start by introducing the all-conquering Intermediate squad into the function hall to a standing ovation from the appreciative crowd.

Club chairman Frank Hyland, Connaught Council chairman Paddy Naughton, Mayo County Board chairman Paddy McNicholas, Davitts team manager Peter Warren and club captain Michael Conroy all spoke before Michael O’Muircheartaigh had the audience captivated with a very entertaining speech. The Intermediate and Minor panels were presented with their medals to rapturous applause.

Individual player of the year awards went to Michael Ronayne (Junior), John Heneghan (U-21) and Michael Conroy (Intermediate). Patsy Higgins was added to the Hall of Fame while Joe Reapy was the recipient of the Clubman of the Year award. Noel Reapy’s highly impressive slideshow, reviewing the year through pictures and music, proved a big hit and was one of the highlights of the night.

Music was provided by Blue Tack as Liam Griffin retained the top male dancer title, beating off the stiff challenge of up and coming stars, Martin Kearns and Frank Hyland. There was a three way tie for the female title, with the judges unable to separate Patricia Hennigan and the McNamara sisters Breda and Deirdre (from that well known family of dancers).

Well done to Ronan, Billy, Lucy, Lawrence, Darina, Liam, Ann and Noel for all their efforts in making this a great night for the whole community. A big thank you to Liam Horan who did a great job and to Michael O’Muircheartaigh for honouring the club with his presence. Thanks also to everyone who gave spot prizes.

Finally thanks to the huge crowd that attended and created such a good atmosphere…. See you all in Tullamore on Jan 22nd!!!!

A selection of photos from the Dinner Dance will be available soon…

January 3, 2012

Tickets for Dinner Dance SOLD OUT

As expected, all tickets for the Dinner Dance in the McWilliam Park Hotel this Friday (6th January) have completely sold out. A capacity crowd of 450 will celebrate the most sussessful year in Davitts history, in what is sure to be a night to remember. Again, please remember that no entry will be gained on the night without a ticket, so please bear this in mind as a refusal often offends!

Davitts are delighted to confirm that the special guest on the night is legendary GAA commentator Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh who will be also be joined by guest MC Liam Horan.

January 1, 2012

Thank you to our Sponsors

Davitts GAA Club would like to sincerely thank our sponsors throughout the year and for the upcoming All Ireland Semi Final. A huge thank you for your greatly appreciated support to:

Pat McHugh & Sons (main club sponsor)

The Borderline Bar

Bertie Penny

Clarke’s Bar

Ultan Molloy, Healthwest Pharmacy

Gilligan’s Bar

Martin Trench

Gannon Chemicals

Stagg Betting

Hennigan’s Centra

McHugh’s Costcutters

Padraig Moran Barbers

Kearns Bros. Tractor Sales & Service

JT Sports

Bourke’s Bar

Enda Kenny T.D.

M&S Carpets

Albony Home Decor

Ballindine Oil

J.J. Griffiths

Hillside Service Station

John O’Mahony T.D.


Powerserve (Norman Mc Carthy)

Brady Laundrette

Sams Bar

Killeen’s Sports Grounds, Claremorris

Mooney & Kirrane Tarmacadam Specialists

Gareth Wright Physiotherapy

Brendan & Billy Fitzpatrick

Paul Keane Butchers

Richard Finn Mayo C.C.

Country Inn, Clonbern (Pat Ronanye)

MK Tyres, Ballindine & Ballina

Dunmore Community School

Kearns Water Systems

AIB Claremorris

Michael Stephens Decorators

Ladbrokes, Claremorris

St. Colmans BNI Chapter

Glynn’s Hardware, Milltown

Patsy Higgins

Sean Sweeney

McHales Engineering, Ballinrobe

The Foodstore, Claremorris

Irish Tyre Products (Liam Griffin)

Tom Connolly Mayo C.C.

PaddyPower, Claremorris

NRS Group, Kilmovee

Kevin Burke Mechanic

Carey Undertakers

Western Brand

Delaney Oil, Brickens

James Clarke Tractor Sales

John Mc Donnell, VIVO

Eddie McLoughlin

Eugene Kirrane Plant & Machinery Hire & Sales

Niall Roche Carpentry, Kilvine

Inisbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Eamon Hughes Marble & Granite

Liam Trench Agri-Contractors

Forever Young Beauty Salon, Claremorris

Diskin Kitchens, Milltown

Chadwicks Builders Materials, Galway

Delaney Hardware, Ballyhaunis

Woodstock Welding

Linkus (William Freeley)

Scroll to top